Rachael Dean MNZN

Rachael Dean MNZN

·         Rachael grew up in the South Island High Country where firearms were a tool of the trade and in the distant past, hunted. She is a current holder of serval endorsements.

·         Rachael also held a gun licence in the UK for many years and was a partner in a firearms related business that required a strong focus on safety and good relationships with County police responsible for firearms.  In New Zealand she is a partner in a business supplying blank ammunition and theatrical armourer services. 

·         In 2020 Rachael was appointed by the Minister to her second term on the NZ Game Animal Council. Original appointment commenced in 2017.

·         Rachael shoots fixed target rifle, service rifle and is a past pistol shooter.   She is currently Treasurer of Wairarapa Pistol & Shooting Sport Club. Prior to that she was Secretary/ Treasurer of Otorohanga Rifle Club. She is also a member of Antique Arms; Sporting Shooters NZ , New Zealand Service Rifle Association and is an independent member of New Zealand Council of Licensed Firearms Owners Inc..

·         Rachael was the rural representative on Police Firearms Community Advisory Forum (“FCAF”) from 2016 to 2018 and the spokesperson for Rural Women New Zealand on firearms matters. Work included preparing press releases, being the contact point for media, meeting with MPs and writing and presenting submissions to select committees.

·         Rachael was a member of the Police Sub-committee on the review of Firearms Storage Security in 2017 and 2018.

·         Rachael was a member of the Ministry of Education, Schools Health and Safety Sector Reference Group on firearms in schools in 2018.

·         Rachael’s professional qualifications include: Chartered Accountant; Certified Internal Auditor and Certified Fraud Examiner. She is also a member of the Institute of Directors.

·         Rachael has a diverse range of governance experience including as Chair. She was honoured in 2019 by being made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in recognition of her services to governance and community. She was also honoured in 2018 by being selected as one of the 125 women chosen for the Waikato125 project that is, one of 125 Waikato women who have been instrumental in leading and driving change for women.